The Madison Project - Late Night Drive Thru

All things Recorded A Cappella Review Board.

The Madison Project - Late Night Drive Thru

Postby pujo » Fri Sep 26, 2008 7:41 am

Well, its funny now 5 years later I am posting again on RARB review board. As a young freshman full of fury I went nutty reviewing the review of Rockstar in which I made an argument about digitized voices versus natural raw sound and got eaten alive by my President for it. I was chock full of harsh words.

Now a graduate and former member of Project its time I set the record straight.

Our third reviewer reviews this album the same way I wouldve when I was a freshman. Id have to say I agree in theory but also disagree to the extent of the 3's that cross the board in his review.

I would agree that there is a line to be drawn with digital cd's and this is where my 5 year old post about recording monkeys, digitizing them and selling a cd comes into play. This line, I feel, project hasnt crossed this time around. I am extremely proud of Madison Project for their hard work on this CD. My point is that you can prefer raw sound versus a digital electronica cd. You can even review it how youd like. But among the parts of the CD that may sound digital or even fake, theyre not.

Go to one of Projects shows. Go hear the dirty dirty rumble bass that is Mike Held. Seriously, Ive heard about his balls and supposedly theyre like apples. Talk to Jeff. Thats not a fake bass sound. Its wild how powerful they are. And the amazing blend you hear? Thats actually hours and hours of hard work by Snowball to get it right. The guy is meticulous. And Drew, Zach, Blaine and the other soloists are actually that good.

This isnt my monkey choir making a world tour. The Madison Project put their heart and soul and more importantly their raw natural talent into this CD.