Duke Out of the Blue - "Flywheel"

All things Recorded A Cappella Review Board.

Duke Out of the Blue - "Flywheel"

Postby dave sperandio » Tue Apr 20, 2010 8:23 am

Hello all,

I'd like to make a few comments about this record, RARB's review of same, and about the group in general.

First things first: a hearty congratulations to OOTB for putting out "Flywheel" - the culmination of years of growth, hard work, and synergy. Joseph Bates and I have been working with OOTB since 2003, and at least for myself, there has been no greater satisfaction in my brief career than that which I found in working with this group over the years. I would guess that Joseph might say the same.

Over these many years and over the course of 4 albums, the ladies of Duke OOTB have evolved into what I (subjectively) feel is currently perhaps the most complete - and self sufficient - all female scholastic a cappella group in the land. A few other groups come close and are awesome in their own way (Divisi comes to mind, as do a few others) but In my personal experience, no other group has shown the steady, exponential upward curve of growth that OOTB has (keep in mind that I work with scores of femappella groups (and I love them all!), and that I went to UNC, so this statement requires a lot of thought before being made!).