PLEA - To all creators of a cappella music.

From gear to techniques to finished song, it’s all here.

PLEA - To all creators of a cappella music.

Postby D.L.P.A » Thu Jan 07, 2010 7:16 pm

Hi everyone!

I've been a huge fan of a cappella music, specifically collegiate a cappella, for about 4 years now. I'm a sophomore in college, but I'm sadly not talented enough to be in a group myself. However, it is refreshing to know that people my age can truly inspire my ears and creativity with their unbelievable talent and hard work.

I've just registered for the forums here, and have eagerly been searching for at least one opinion that mirrors mine on the forums. However, there is one opinion that I am not seeing, and it is closely tied in to my opinion of the newest Bubs album "Play the Game" which everybody seems to love.

The Bubs are amazing. I enjoyed "Shedding" a lot (specifically the song Hurt), but for some reason I skipped on Pandaemonium. I recently downloaded "Play the Game," and while I can notice the huge difference between the sound of their album, and the sound of almost any other album that tries to imitate theirs, I also notice one element of the album that is very disappointing to me, so much so that I can't go on without getting this opinion out.

There is a difference between the quality of the songs, and the quality of the album. I think that this applies to all groups intent on recording, and I will not simply use this message to bash the Bubs. They don't deserve it.

What I mean when I say "there is a difference between the quality of the songs, and the quality of the album," is that just because the songs are of a high quality and musicality doesn't mean that I will necessarily like the album. I say this with several points in mind: