Concert Review: The House Jacks, 5/20 Grass Valley Center fo

Discuss our reviews or just talk about any old album.

Concert Review: The House Jacks, 5/20 Grass Valley Center fo

Postby Amy Malkoff » Tue Jun 28, 2011 6:58 am

Rediscovering the House Jacks

If you think there is no way you could possibly enjoy a House Jacks show more than you already do, try this: go with someone who has never seen them perform live before. I guarantee you’ll feel as giddy as a schoolgirl.

Okay, maybe not the schoolgirl part, I exaggerate. But on Friday, May 20, I went to the Grass Valley Center for the Arts (CA) to see “ma boyz” and brought my friend Martha – she’d seen a YouTube of them before but otherwise, a total newbie. She was in for a treat, and watching her discovery made it even better for me as well.

In case there’s anyone not up to speed on the House Jacks, they are – in no particular order – Austin Willacy, Roopak Ahuja (aka “Roo”), Deke Sharon, Troy Horne, and Jake Moulton.

Austin’s stratospheric tenor is awesome to behold; Roo’s clear tone with just the slightest husky edge is captivating; Troy’s bass lines are rock solid, as are his somewhat higher-pitched solo turns; Jake is a beatboxer extraordinaire whose repertoire of sounds is unmatched; and Deke… well, if you read my review of the previous Grass Valley HJ show, you know I think he’s an a cappella deity. So… onward.

Two things were immediately evident when the guys took the stage on Friday. First, they were dressed alike, in jeans and similar-toned plaid shirts – looking just individual enough that it could have been a coincidence, but alike enough that I found myself thinking, “Hey, costumes!” I’m not sure that was what they were going for, but as a theatre person, that’s sort of how my mind works sometimes.